Listening

“A leader is one who knows how to listen: to the unspoken cry of others and to the still, small voice of God.” Lessons in Leadership: A Weekly Reading of the Jewish Bible by Jonathan Sacks.
I read this quote today and at first glance it isn’t anything new. I’ve acknowledged the power of listening and communication in leadership for quite some time. This quote stood out to me because simple word: unspoken. As leaders we must realize what people are trying to communicate to us but not actually speaking. I know when I’m speaking to someone that leads me, there are times that I do not say what is on my mind or heart and am hoping they will pick up on what I’m trying to communicate. To me this is two-fold, hopefully I learn to speak clearly what I am actually experiencing, and hopefully I listen better when others don’t. Listening to what is said and not said are equally important. Are you really listening?
Leave a Reply

