Recovering From a Small Failure

IMG_3355One of my goals for the year is to say goodbye to soda for all of 2015. Well, that lasted exactly 21 days. Kasie and I ended our fast on the 20th near midnight by eating a small (seemed small anyway) pizza from Marco’s here in North Liberty. The next morning I enjoyed caffeine and other foods I’d left behind for the previous three weeks. I had a meeting all morning and through lunch in Des Moines, and while I was eating a delicious burrito from Qdoba I instinctively grabbed a 12 oz can of Coca-Cola. I drank the whole thing, and didn’t even notice.

About 20 minutes later while still in the meeting I started to get sick to my stomach as I realized I drank that soda. Not because of the sugar (corn syrup), or caffeine, or any other garbage in soda, but because I didn’t want to drink it this year. I can no longer say I didn’t drink soda in 2015, but now have to say, well I only drank one soda in 2015. This sucks to me. I know it’s not that big of a deal, but I hate it.

I hate failing, and often it paralyzes me when I experience failure. This bothers me. It bothers my wife. So this year, I’m bouncing back. In other years, I would have given up on that goal, because I already failed. Not this year. I’m still not going to drink any more soda in 2015, and I’m not going to allow failure, screw ups, or the like hold me back from what I want to do.

Overcoming this small failure will help me to push past bigger goals and achievements. It builds the necessary momentum I need to carry me past other more difficult challenges. Failure doesn’t control me, and don’t let it control you. What are some of your small failures that have paralyzed you? How can I cheer you on to the next big thing?!

Leave a Reply

