A Change That Makes Me See How Jacked Up Our System Is

This month my wife and I are trying something new and we are eating very clean. Of course we have spiritual reasons for doing this, but it has caused me to think about some things that relate to my job and our community.

Right now Kasie and I are eating only fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, and a limited amount of whole grains, and we are only drinking water. This means we are not eating meat, dairy, most breads, sugar, or caffeine. The caffeine and sugar are the parts I’m really craving and missing, but energy wise I’m feeling great. I’ve also been running 20 minutes everyday, and I think that has helped me not go crazy as I have some sort of outlet.

One of the things that has bugged me about this change in our diet is that we’ve already spent our entire monthly budget for groceries and it’s only one week in. I think we may be able to get another week out of the food we’ve already purchased, but it definitely won’t last us the entire month. Now this is just a short term change for us, so the financial piece isn’t that big of a deal to me. However, I can’t help but think how we’re trying to eat more “natural” or “healthy” and yet it takes a huge amount of resources to do that. Right now I’m sitting at a McDonalds eating a fruit oatmeal (and drinking water) and I feel like I’m cheating. Well in all reality I probably am cheating to some extent, but I have a meeting and this is close enough. As I sit here I’ve seen multiple homeless people walk in and get food. This breaks my heart, because they have nothing and there is no way they could afford to eat the healthy way I am right now. I think our system is so jacked up when it costs more to eat healthy.

It is also frigidly cold where I live right now, so that means kids aren’t in schools. This breaks my heart, because so many families rely on the school for free breakfast and free lunch for their children, so while a snow day may be awesome for a lot of kids, so many others may not get to eat. Let alone eat a healthy meal.

So today, I’m praying for those around me that can’t afford to eat healthy. I pray that our system would change, and of course I want to do my part to make change. I’m not sure what that looks like yet, but I don’t like to sit around and do nothing when I see a problem.

Leave a Reply

