Risky

Screen Shot 2014-02-03 at 2.51.50 PM

Matthew 6:31-35

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For  the Gentiles seek after all these things, and  your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But  seek first  the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

I’ve been on this kick lately where I ask myself if I’m really risking anything for my faith. I mean, I live in America, a “Christian Nation”. I have two vehicles. I never go hungry. I am never in physical harm’s way for having faith in Jesus. I own my home. I have an abundance of clothes. I can carry my Bible publicly. I pretty much live in a very safe world. I never wonder if I will get another meal today or not. Basically what I’m asking is, “Do I need God to exist for me to live life the way I do?” Or another way of putting it is, would my life look any different if I were an atheist?

All of this asking makes me look inside and see if I really believe the scriptures or not. I think asking this sorts of questions are incredibly healthy, and we should all do a inner questioning from time to time. I know that I want to live a riskier faith. I know that I don’t want to be walking around as a Christian by name only, and Atheist by my actions. This just causes from some deep reflection, and then steps to follow with it. It also forces me to have courage for the next step, and whatever that is that God places on my heart to take.

Leave a Reply

