Legacy of Love

Legacy I’ve always been attracted to the idea of legacy. I even think it is a desire God puts inside of us to leave our mark on the world, and leave something that goes much beyond ourselves.

John 13:34-25 says, “A new commandment  I give to you,  that you love one another:  just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

I think when Jesus put skin and bones on and stepped into our world, one of the things he came to do was to challenge us to leave a legacy of love. He says there in John that we will be known to the world by our love for one another. Growing up I always wanted to leave a legacy of a champion. Something of the likes of Coach K or John Wooden. Not something that seems so weak like loving my fellow man.

But as I’ve grown as a man, and grown as a follower of Jesus I realize that the most powerful legacy I can hope to leave behind me is one of love. I want to do everything I can to love the people I encounter each day, and I want to challenge them to pass that love along. If I do everything else wrong in raising my son I hope that he gets this one thing, and that is the challenge to love everyone he encounters. It’s not an easy task though, there are some cruddy people out there (myself included), plus it also means continually putting others first which is so hard in a me centered world.

What kind of legacy will you leave behind? What will you be remembered for?

One thought on “Legacy of Love

Leave a Reply

