What is your fun?

jUsain-Bolt-Jamaican-Sprinter-AthleteWhat do you do for fun? What do you do to get away? For a release?

Over the last year or so I’ve realized I don’t focus enough of my energy on having fun. Most of what I do is work related, and don’t get me wrong I have a lot of fun in my job and I deeply love what I do. But I don’t focus enough energy on fun.

As I process and think about what I could do for fun it makes me think back to what I used to do for fun. Growing up I loved sports. I can visualize the first time I stepped onto a baseball field to play at four years old. I remember walking off the football field the last time as a player. I remember the time I missed a free throw that could have won us a game my senior year. I have countless memories of playing catch or having batting practice with my dad. I remember being late for wrestling practice in kindergarten, and crying because I showed up late. I remember throwing up during a basketball game in 7th grade and my friend Jesse using my towel I vomited on to wipe the sweat off of his brow (And I remember Coach Thurm and I laughing about it for weeks). I remember spending hours a day with my brother on the golf course.

Sports are fun to me. I love watching college football all day on Saturdays. I love watching my students compete in their various sports. I still get anxious even watching the gun before a race. Fun to me is competing, and watching others compete. I’m hoping to begin a journey towards being an athlete again. And as I do it I’m going to start a new blog about being an athlete. I’ll call it Still an Athlete, because I’ve lost so much of my identity in being an athlete, but I haven’t let go of it completely. I look at myself and think I’m still an athlete, and I think I’m not the only one that does that.

If this is something you are interested in following, I’ve created an email list you can sign up for to receive updates as the building process will take a little while. The best way to do that is to follow this link and sign up! I’ll also be looking for other contributors to create something new with me, so if you’re interested please leave a comment or shoot me an email. I’ll still be posting here a few times each week, and will give occasional updates for the other blog, but mostly I will keep them separate.

In case that link didn’t work <http://eepurl.com/Ekq9b>.

Leave a Reply

