The power of words

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits. Proverbs 18:21 (ESV)

I am realizing more and more lately the power of the tongue. I’ve known this for some time, but it really hit me on Sunday morning. I actually bought a new shirt on Saturday, (this is rare for me, actually my wife was baffled when I said we should look at the clothes for me when we were in the store) and naturally I wore it on Sunday. The shirt is a color I don’t normally wear, and right away in the morning I got a few compliments. I don’t usually get compliments on my clothes, and it was actually quite nice. The words put me in a positive mood, and helped me look at the day with a new light. I know the words are simple, but even the smallest of things has the potential to change our day. Small words make or break my day. Even when someone tells me I have something on my face or in my teeth, it messes with my confidence. I know I should not allow small things like those to affect me, and I’ve tried to not allow it to do so but it is hard.

All this to say how are your small words affecting people? Small words, small compliments of life giving encouragement have a powerful potential to affect and change someone’s day. How will people walk away from an interaction with you?

2 thoughts on “The power of words

Leave a Reply

