The difficulty of blogging or any other task worth doing…

you-lack-disciplineWell lately I’ve completely fallen off of the blog bandwagon, and I’m realizing I’ve typed that many times over the years of this site. I am realizing that blogging is like many other things in life. It goes in cycles. I don’t particularly like sitting down to write, but I certainly like to have written. This is much like my dilemma with working out, or most any other discipline. We have to wake up, push through, and get stuff done even when we don’t want to do it. I know this isn’t necessarily a great spiritual principle, but it is a life principle and one I need to keep teaching and preaching to myself.

There are a lot of things in life that I don’t like to do, but need to do them. For example I don’t like to floss, but I know it’s good for me. I know I want to be a writer of some sort, but I hardly ever write. So I’m going to attempt to be more regular on here again. I don’t make any promises that it will be great content, but I feel like I just need to put my head down and get more stuff out. For those of you that read my older stuff you may unfollow me if you like, because it may be a whole new direction of writing, and to be honest I don’t care that much about how well it is put together. My goal is going to be to just simply write more. I will write about my passions, my experiments,  and just get stuff out more. I may offend you sometimes, but I hope you’ve read enough of my content to know that is never my goal. It just happens sometimes though. Through this I hope to become a better writer, person, and if I’m lucky enough I’ll inspire a few others to do the same.

What difficult task are you going to start doing? I am going to do this, will you join me with something of your own?

PS.  My wife is having a baby, and I’m very excited to be a dad. But so nervous to be the main influence in someone’s life. Pray for us!

2 thoughts on “The difficulty of blogging or any other task worth doing…

  1. Adam…I have this same problem! I post on my blog 6 days a week, Mon-Sat. I write my posts out a week in advance, so even if inspiration doesn’t strike me daily, I have something. I’m not happy with a lot of what I write, but if I don’t make myself publish the imperfect pieces, I would have very little to share. Self-criticism is one of the biggest barriers to self-expression. I’m subscribing to get email notifications. Just think of all those readers (like me) who are WAITING for your daily posts and that will compel you to write something, anything…
    Congratulations on the pregnancy. I’m excited for you two…

    • Thanks for the inspiration Nisha! I will definitely keep my subscribers in mind when looking for inspiration and digging deep! Glad I’m not the only one struggling with the issue!

      And thanks for the congratulations! We are very excited!

Leave a Reply

