My Struggle with Christians

Before anyone reads the rest of this post, I want it to be noted that this is a post directed at myself. It is a challenge to live out our faith, and it is directed at no group, person, or organization except myself and those interested in reading it.

                                                                                                                          

The greatest commandment says, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”

And Paul later says, “If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

                                                                                                                          

From these frequently used verses we can tell love is of the uttermost importance to Christ. Therefore love ought to be of the uttermost of importance to Christians. Christians should be known for love. Christians should be considered weird for how they love people. Christians should be accused of showing too much grace and forgiveness as a fruit of our love. Christians should be known for the love they have for each other. Christ also calls Christians to be a light unto the world, meaning what they have is not meant to be kept, but meant to be shared with those around them.

My struggle with Christians is that I don’t often see these verses lived out. Christians are known for hypocrisy. We are known for our ‘cheesy’ subculture. We are known as anti-gay. We are known as anti-lots of things. We are still mostly segregated. We are known to be ultra conservative, and unwilling to have open discussion about other thoughts since we are also known to be close minded.

Now I know these are huge over generalizations, but most generalizations are founded somewhere. Why don’t we stop being known for all of this junk, and start being known for LOVE. Let’s start a revolution of how we are viewed, and hopefully we’ll change a few people’s perspective of us.

Will you join me? Next week I’ll post a follow up on how I think we can do this.

One thought on “My Struggle with Christians

  1. Pingback: My Struggle with Christians: Part 2 « Adam Kolosik

Leave a Reply

