Another Emasculating Post

“Life’s all about moments of impact, and how they change our lives forever. What if one day you could no longer remember any of them?”

I know many Christians don’t like The Vow, and many guys don’t either. I’ll just be honest and say that I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed it, because of this quote and idea that is repeated throughout the movie.  “Life’s all about moments of impact, and how they change our lives forever. What if one day you could no longer remember any of them?” I’ve had many crucial moments of impact in my life, and they have changed my life forever drastically. But this thought also makes me think about all the small moments in between. The moments that seem insignificant, but the sum total of these insignificant moments create so much of our story. What if we looked at these ‘insignificant’ moments, and started making them crucial moments? What if we really lived in each moment fully present? I venture to say that our story would be much more exciting. Our story would be worth listening to. I urge you to look at life as more than just certain crucial moments, but to look at everyday as an opportunity to create moments of impact in your life, and in the life of those around you.

On a side note, record the moments of your life somehow. Whether it’s a blog, tweets, journaling, photos, Facebook Timeline, whatever, just record your life. It will make you happy when you can look back at memories once lost, and remember small joys and crucial moments lost.

I walked away from The Vow truly inspired to live. There may be parts of the movie I didn’t like, but that doesn’t ruin the fact that it challenged me to live.

Yes, that was a deep reflection by a man about a chick flick. Are you man enough to do the same?

Leave a Reply

