On Sabbath and Burn Out

Exodus 20:8-11

Observe the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Work six days and do everything you need to do. But the seventh day is a Sabbath to God, your God. Don’t do any work-not you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your servant, nor your maid, nor your animals, not even the foreign guest visiting in your town. For in six days God made Heaven, Earth, and sea, and everything in them; he rested on the seventh day. Therefore God blessed the Sabbath day; he set it apart as a holy day.

                                                                                                                          

I am absolutely convinced that people must have one day a week to rest. I don’t mean to just sit on the couch and watch tv or Facebook stalk people all day. I mean to not do the work we normally do. To rest and focus on important things in life other than work. For what it’s worth I don’t think it has to be a specific day either. I work for a church, therefore Sunday is not a day of rest for me. I do my best not to do any work on Mondays. I try to rest and relax. I do some reading, I do some stuff around the home, I do not work. I know other people that may call a sabbath family day, I feel that could be the same thing.

I know people that work all day everyday, and get burnt out. They love their job, but get worn out. I firmly believe that getting a weekly sabbath helps us all to avoid burn out and exhaustion. It keeps me strong and focused when I am working. It helps me to stay passionate about my job that I love so dearly. It also helps my mind get a rest that I usually don’t take the rest of the week.

Consider finding time for a regular sabbath in your schedule. I also understand it’s hard for people to find a whole day, but maybe try to find a half day here and a half day there. Just make it a regular thing, and attempt to be consistent with it.

2 thoughts on “On Sabbath and Burn Out

  1. Just stumbled across your blog and enjoyed reading through your posts.

    Totally agree about the importance of a Sabbath rest. It’s a challenge to keep at it but find it really edifying for my walk with the Lord when I manage to do it.

Leave a Reply

