Throw a Stone in the Pond

Sometimes we just have to throw a stone in the pond and make a splash. This can come by doing something unexpected, going on a new adventure, or just bringing a twist to something that has become ritual and meaningless, but should have meaning to it.

I like to do unexpected things. It gets me out of the norm, and challenges me not to be just what others expect of me. Most of all it challenges me to really be me. We often just fall into what others expect of us, and we should never be bound by those expectations if they contradict who we are at the core.

New adventures are a good way to shake things up as well. I’m very thankful to have taken many fun adventures. This can be going somewhere new, or just finding some beauty if something near. I love the mantra from Mark Batterson, “A Change of Pace + A Change of Place = A Change of Perspective.” Take a new adventure and shake things up. Make a ripple effect in that pond. For what it’s worth, I like to think of my life as an adventure everyday, and I wouldn’t want to live any other way.

Think of the things in your life that are routine and have become almost ritual. How might you change them up, so the meaning can come back? As a church leader I am constantly trying to think of new ways to speak old truths. Many people know and hear the same old things, but they no longer carry the same meaning to them because it has become normal. Try to make things new again. That may be in your date nights with your spouse, in the way you drive to work, in how you pray, or in anything that you do of deep meaning.

Sometime we just need to throw a stone in the pond so the water isn’t sitting still for too long. Change can be great, and bring something fresh to your life. Throw the stone and make a ripple.

Leave a Reply

