Two Kinds of Weird

I was talking to a friend the other day and I realized I often think of two different kinds of weird. I sometimes describe myself as weird, but I only fall into one of my two categories of weird.

One kind of weird, is when your life just doesn’t make sense. This is the kind of weird I describe myself as. As a follower of Jesus, if I really truly believe what the Bible says and I think if we strive to apply it to life it’ll be weird. Look at Paul, he is persecuting these weirdos called Christians, then experiences God and decides to travel the world and tell people about it. He lives essentially in poverty, he sells tents to survive, he is thrown in prison, persecuted, brags about being persecuted, and eventually he is murdered. That is a weird life. It just doesn’t make sense. I think if we really believe the Bible and actually live it out, then our lives won’t make sense without looking to it(the bible) for explanation. One kind of weird is when your life just doesn’t make sense.

Another kind of weird, is when you can’t carry a conversation with a ‘normal’ person. I’m thinking of Christians that are so saturated with the Christian-Subculture that they can’t carry a conversation with people that watch normal T.V. and listen to Secular (heaven forbid) music. These are the weirdos that are hard to talk to. I hope I never get characterized as this kind of weird. I love people too much to force myself out of culture.

Maybe I’m too harsh, but these are just a few thoughts I’ve been thinking lately. I realize that some of my language is different, and wanted to explain what I mean be weird when I refer to myself.

What do you think? Are there other kinds of weird than this?

Leave a Reply

