Who do you hang out with?

“Show me your friends and I will tell you who you are.”

This quote is told over and over to teenagers all across the country about watching who they hang out with, and how the people they hang out with will effect the decisions they make. I think this quote or saying is much bigger than just telling teenagers to watch the influences in their life.

This saying can be applied to adults as well. If we surround ourselves with positive people that are making a difference in their worlds, than I’m more than willing to bet that you are doing likewise. If you surround yourself with people that are constantly complaining about how the world is out to get them, I bet you do the same and may not even realize it. This principle isn’t just for teenagers. It goes for adults in the wok place, or not working either.

I was once told that if you take your 4 closest friends and their average salaries, than yours would be pretty close to it. This is not true at all for me, but some of my closest friends are changing the world around them. My goal is not to make a huge salary, and I hope your goals are much bigger than just money as well. My goal is to see and bring change to the world by living my life in a way that can be followed. I have chosen to keep close to people that are doing things that I want to be doing the rest of my life. Maybe that isn’t just in occupation, as some of my friends are doing things for jobs that I have no interest in, but they are doing their jobs in such a way that is admirable.

Think about the people closest to you. Are they encouraging you to do something that is writing an exciting story? Or are they pulling you into something you never thought you’d be doing?

“Show me your friends and I will tell you who you are.”

Leave a Reply

