I love America

Well I suppose I’m a day late on my Independence Day post, but it’ll do for me.

So I often get frustrated with out country. I think of our taxes, our failure to clean up some things (Katrina), our eco-centrism, our lack of faith, and other such things.

However, last night while watching the fireworks with my girlfriend I had a deep feeling of thankfulness. I am so thankful to live in our wonderful country. I am so thankful for the millions of military that have put country before self. I am so thankful for the freedom we have here.

Freedom. I am so thankful for the freedom to write what I want, to believe what I want, to say what I want, to love what I want.

Most of us do not live in total freedom. Even within this free country. We have endless possibilities, but we let invisible boundaries control us. Why do we do that? What limits do we put on ourselves? This is the land of opportunity right?

We live in a beautiful country. No country is perfect, but I think we are pretty lucky to live in the one we do, and be thankful more for what we have instead of complaining at what we don’t.

I am convicted of this as well, but just sharing the thought.

Leave a Reply

