frustration

Sometimes I hate Christians.

I know that’s pretty strong language, but it’s hard to love people that stand against and hate so much.

I know the irony of this is pretty strange since well I am a Christian, well I don’t like to say that too often, just because of the tainted image so many have created.

I just watched a video on one of my favorite blogger’s website. Matthew Paul Turner is a hilarious dude. Check out his blog Jesus Needs New PR

He posted a video a couple days ago about a “Hell House”. In this video it goes through many scenarios such as suicide, abortion, alcohol, drugs, rape, and abuse just to name a few. In each situation someone ended up dieing. After each death they were then taken to heaven or to hell.

Then at the end of watching these scenarios people are told they need Jesus. They are told there are people to pray with them and Jesus wants them.

I hate manipulation. This stuff is 100% manipulation, and no one should have to go through this crap. What happened to the command in John 13:34 where Jesus says “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  35 By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

Is manipulation showing the love of Jesus? Is fear showing our love as disciples of Christ?

It’s stuff like this video and the reality of these “Hell Houses” that taint the image of our loving God. It’s stuff like this that makes me really mad, but at the same time it makes me want to love people and do even more. To show who Jesus really is. To show the hope, freedom, and love he does offer to anyone.

I think over the next weeks I may post some more frustrations with Christians. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately.

Leave a Reply

