Religions in the United States

I just finished up my Religions in the U.S. class at Kirkwood last night. I really enjoyed that class. It wasn’t exactly what I thought I was getting into, but I had a lot of fun and met some really cool people.

I find it interesting how our perspective on things change when we actually meet someone in a situation we had a particular view on. For example immigration. My views changed a lot when I met little kids in Dallas that were illegal. My views changed a lot on Islam through getting to know and hear a girl in my Religion class talk about it. Not to say I agree with everything or am I going to convert, but to say that things aren’t always as we seem until we really get to hear a real live person’s perspective.

Where she stands has changed my understanding of Islam drastically from the little I knew before. I only knew a little, and actually I can remember in my small school upbringing the one day we talked about Islam. I remember the exact date and place and teacher. It was September 12, 2001. Wonder why we talked about it that day? And I must add the day prior to that was a horrible horrible representation of Islam, as many Americans are horrible representations of Christianity.

I say all this to say that I loved my class.

And things aren’t always as they seem.

Dig deeper, ask questions, love people before we judge them.

Leave a Reply

