Overwhelming fear

I have this overwhelming fear of…….
Well of being completely normal.
All of us are different, but there are some people that do extraordinary things.
We all are capable of doing something great.
We all are capable of changing the world.
Who will? Will you?
Will I?
It is normal to graduate high school, go to college, dig into debt you can’t pay for years, get a job, get married, have 2 and a half kids, get more debt between a house and car, pay off debt, make money, buy a bigger house, get a new car, get a bigger tv, get more stuff, go on an all family vacation, pay with credit cards, work to pay bills, retire at 65, live off of social security and some saved retirement money, die.
The order may be different, but most of these things are pretty normal.
I don’t know what I want my life to look like exactly, but I don’t want to be normal.
Honestly I hope I do something so radical that it changes the face of this earth (I know my family and girlfriend are my main readers and they won’t want to read this), and someone will want to kill me.
I know it’s kind of a morbid and weird post, but really who has changed this world more than anyone?
Well lets start at say ohhhhh wait what year does it go from counting down in time to counting up in time? Oh that was Jesus, he changed the world a little bit. And what happened to his followers? Wait, do I consider myself one of his followers? If I really live it out, something might happen. Now don’t get me wrong, my goal is not to get killed, but to live in such a way that I do not fear it. Or in more modern days what about JFK, he bucked a few trends in the Presidency, or Lincoln, or Martin Luther King Jr. Just a few extraordinary people.

My overwhelming fear is that I won’t change the world, that I will get comfortable doing what is expected and doing what everyone else does, and die not making an impact beyond what is possible.

I don’t think I can change the world by my power and by who I am, but by the power of the one I have a relationship. Jesus.
I don’t want to be normal. You don’t have to be either.
Mess the world up. Be you.

Leave a Reply

